How to Delete or Deactivate Facebook Account Properly
Facebook allows you to do anything with your account. You can keep it or get rid of it when you like. But there are a few things that you might keep in mind before deactivating or deleting your Facebook account. Deactivating your account will just temporarily hide you from Facebook. While deleting will permanently close your account and you cant regain access to it. Some information that you need to remember and they are:
When you deactivate your account
- Nobody can search for you on Facebook.
- Nobody can see your timeline etc.
- Messages you sent to friends or other people will still be visible to them.
- You won’t get and message request or friend request.
- When you try to log in, your account will be reactivated and you will be logged in automatically.
When you delete your account
- You will never get access to the account again
- There will be no account recovery
- Deleting a Facebook account will take up to two weeks. So if you are serious about deletion then don’t try to log in. Otherwise, your deletion process will get canceled automatically
- It may also take up to 90 for complete delete
- People you send messages will still see those messages even after deleting the account
Top things to do before deactivating or deleting your Facebook account
There could be many reasons because of which you won’t get rid of your Facebook account. But to completely free your mind from Facebook by Deactivation or deleting your account. Look there is a thing, deleting is different from deactivating, how? Anytime anywhere you can go and deactivate your account but deletion isn’t that simple. Because there are top things to do before going for the deletion or deactivation.
1: Download your Facebook Data
The most important things are to grab your precious data and information from Facebook. There are users who really don’t care about data or any information. But on another side, lots of people want to keep the data with them. For them, Facebook has developed an easy way to access and download personal information and data. To download a copy of your FB data:
Go to settings > Your Information > Download your Information > Click View > Check the necessary files categories, and further follow up > Finally, Click Create File option to confirm the download request. That’s it.
Keep in mind that, the download could take several days. So, if your decision is final then try to start the download process. When a copy of your data is ready to download then grab it.
2: Store Your Personal Data Copy of Facebook on the Cloud
When you successfully download the file of your personal data. Try to keep it somewhere more secure and trustworthy. For Google Drive, Microsoft OneDrive, DropBox, etc are the safest places to keep your files safe and accessible anywhere on the globe. The cloud drive option is always the best and safe. Just ensure that you remember your Google drive or any other cloud drive email and password.
3: Check Your Connected App
Nowadays almost every website that requires you to log in using your Facebook email and password, So those website and apps are stored on Facebook as connected apps. However, when you delete your Facebook account, definitely you lose access to those apps and websites. So, before deleting, ensure that you check your connected apps like, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.
4: Ask Friends for Personal Contact and Birthdays
Definitely, you are getting rid of Facebook. You must have friends you love the most on Facebook. So ask them to give you their personal contact number or any other social platform username. Ask them to give their birthdays date so could in the future you could wish them a happy birthday. Another option for doing this to use the built-in app Facebook Birthday’s. Ask friends for emails etc and phone numbers for future contact.
5: Optimize Your Online Visibility
If there are no chances to use Facebook again. Then make your visibility on the social platforms you are using like Instagram, Twitter, etc. So that a person can contact whenever they need to. Ensure that people and your friends can still search on Google and other social platforms.
How do I deactivate my Facebook account?
Whenever you want you can take a break from your Facebook account and deactivate it. To deactivate your FB account:
- Click the drop-down arrow button at the top right.
- Click Settings.
- At left click General.
- Now click the Manage your account.
- Finally, click Deactivate your account, after that follow the on-screen instructions and confirm everything.
The first thing you may wanna do is to get rid of the Facebook Messenger app. This is because, when you deactivate your account you will still be logged in in Messenger. Thus people will still be able to see you on Messenger and can contact when they want. If you don’t want to get rid of Messenger you can still use it and view strangers’ messages. Remember that your friends will still your name on their friends’ list.
How do I Reactivate my Facebook account?
Reactivating your FB account doesn’t require any rocket science. To reactivate your account:
- Go Facebook app or Facebook web.
- Log in with your username and password.
- You will be welcomed by Facebook, that’s it.
- You have successfully reactivated your Facebook account.
This is not usual but sometimes Facebook may aks for a mobile number or email confirmation. So be ready when you wanna reactivating your account.
How do I Permanently Delete my Facebook account?
You are serious, of course, you are and you don’t think that in future you are going to use Facebook. No problem there are ways to get rid of your Facebook account. You can submit a request to permanently delete your account but it will take up to 14 days. Keep the above top 5 things in mind before gettings rid of your account. Ensure to download a copy of your personal data on Facebook. To delete your account:
- Go to Settings.
- On the left click Your Facebook Information.
- Click View next to Delete your account and Information.
- Click Delete My Account and follow on-screen instructions to confirm.
After confirming everything don’t try to log in again. This will activate your account again. Wait for 14 days and keep checking your email. You will get a confirmation email by Facebook that your account been successfully deleted.
Can I cancel Facebook account deletion
Yes, you can and it is very simple. To cancel the account deletion process just try to log in to your account as usual. But you can do it within 14 days, after 14 days you can’t get access to your account. However, your account will be gone forever after 14 days. There is also another possibility if you are lucky it could take up to 90 days. Your posts, videos, photos, etc will be permanently deleted except some in for Facebook (reason unknown) keep in their database.
Can I remove a friend or family member account
Yes, you can delete your friend or family member account just in case of medically incapacitated. Facebook will then help you delete that account. There are two rules for that:
For someone under 13
Facebook only lets you create an account if you are 13 years old. So if there is an account of someone under 13 you can report the account to Facebook. Facebook will help you remove it.
For someone over 13
You can directly submit a request to Facebook for your friend or family member to remove the account. Facebook will review the request and will take action.
The above is details and procedure for how to delete and deactivate Facebook account properly. Are you still serious about deleting or deactivating your account? let us know in the comments below.