AN INFORMATIVE BLOG

How to Enable/Disable Facebook Face Recognition

Back in December 2017, Facebook announced a new tool called Face Recognition. According to Facebook, the tools help people better manage their identity online with the help of this feature. This technology will help you review photos and videos you are not tagged in, but you are actually there. So no matter who and when your photo is uploaded, Facebook will notify you.

But after all, the choice will be totally yours, either to turn on or off face recognition feature. If the tool is set to on, then you will know when you appear on Facebook in photos and videos. By default, the tool is set to none which means it is disabled.

How Does Face Recognition Feature on Facebook Works?

The technology is called a template. The template analyzes pixels in videos and photos of your profile etc. After analyzing it calculate a unique number which recognizes you everywhere on Facebook. So whenever somebody posts a photo or video (you are available in), Facebook will hit you with a notification to review the post.

There is one thing to remember, this feature is not yet available to all Facebook users around the globe in certain locations. However, if you are over 18, it will appear (certain locations) so that you can use it. The best of this technology is it detect when somebody is pretending to be you. So you don’t need to worry about that anymore. You can report the users when he/she is pretending to be you. Now let me show how to enable or disable face recognition by Facebook.

How to Turn On or Off Facebook Face Recognition

To enable this feature:

  1. Log in to your account
  2. Go to Settings by clicking the drop-down arrow key at top right
  3. In the left sidebar click Facebook Recognition
  4. Now click “Do you want Facebook to be able to recognize you in photos and videos?
  5. Finally, select the option Yes or No, the choice is yours.

Turn On or Off Facebook Face RecognitionRemember Facebook doesn’t keep templates created from your Face. When the setting is set to off then FB delete the template. But it keeps the template when the setting is set to be ON.

When will you get the notification to review?

As Facebook mentioned, they are always keeping the technology improved. But they cant look for every and each photo or video on FB. The technology will look for you in posts where you are in the audience. Also photos and videos posted by your friends and friends of friends. In most cases you won’t be able to review photos etc, like for example:

  • If the setting is set to off
  • If photos are blurry
  • If you do not have any new photo to review etc

If you are experiencing any issues according to the above, then please let us know in the comment below. Let us know that how this feature works for you.

Related to Facebook

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More