AN INFORMATIVE BLOG

Setup Facebook Privacy Settings & Tools Full Guide

It’s better to control your privacy while using Facebook. It totally depends on you, how to protect online privacy with tons of available privacy tools in Facebook. For example, Audience selector, control who can see your profile, your timeline, photos, and other stuff. There is also a privacy shortcut option you can use for quick setup. Control who can add you as a friend and who can not. Even you can control who can see your profile image/photo and cover photo. In this guide, I will try to show you every possible privacy settings to completely make your Facebook account secure and private.

How to Select Audience for Stuff You Sharing on Facebook

There are lots of things you can do while posting on Facebook. For example, when you are posting something, how to choose who can see it etc. Let explore how to choose the audience when you are sharing stuff.

When you are posting, how to choose who can see it?

Whenever you are updating your Facebook status, sharing a photo, a video etc. There is an audience selector tool available for you. The default selected option is News Feed and the “Public”. You can click and select either Public, Friends, Friends except or click “More”. Then you will see a list of more options like Public, Friends, Friends except.., Specific friends, Only me, and Custom. Now the choice is your what to select as per your privacy of that post.When you are posting, how to choose who can see it

More sharing options

Remeber to not post in hurry, because the tool is designed to remember your last options. For example, if you choose Only me then next time when you posting the auto-chosen option will be Only me. The audience selector tool is everywhere when you post for example privacy shortcuts etc. Once you have made changes to it, it will remember those changes everywhere. But Remember you cannot control when you post on others timeline.

Change the audience for a post I have shared on my Timeline?

Whenever you decided to change the audience for a specific post you have shared on your timeline. You can do it in a few steps:

  1. Go to You timeline
  2. Scroll down to the post you want to change the audience for
  3. Click the drop-down with a globe icon under your name on the post (see the image)
  4. Select the audience, select either Public, Friends, Friends except or click “See all”.

Change audience for already shared post

How to Stop Someone From Posting on Your Timeline?

This is one of the best tools on Facebook to prevent someone posting on your timeline. This is annoying and weird. However, you can control it whether to allow or disallow friends to post on your timeline. Remember that only you and your friends can post something on your timeline. To stop or prevent someone:

  1. Click the drop-down on the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
  2. Now click Timeline and Tagging on the left sidebar
  3. Find Who can post your Timeline
  4. Click edit
  5. From the menu select Only Me option

Stop Someone From Posting on Your Timeline

 

Privacy Settings for How you Connect

Whenever you want to you can adjust and make changes to privacy settings on Facebook. Either to choose and set up with privacy shortcuts for quick setup or use new privacy tools easier to find on the Facebook app. To access privacy shortcuts:

  1. Go to Facebook
  2. Click the question mark sign at the top right
  3. Select Privacy Shortcuts and follow up

privacy shortcuts

In privacy shortcuts you can choose who can see your stuff, contacts, stop someone disturbing you etc.

What is Privacy Check and how to Find it?

Privacy checkup allows you to control who can see your information on your profile. For example your phone number, your email, your places, etc. Whenever you want to you can go and adjust the settings in privacy checkup. To access privacy checkup:

  1. Go to Facebook
  2. Click the question mark sign at the top right
  3. Select Privacy Checkup and follow up

privacy checkup

How to Control Who Can Add you as a Friend?

Now, this is privacy but not 100%, because you can let everyone or just friends of friends to add you as a friend on Facebook. To control and change who can add you as a friend on Facebook:

  1. Click the drop-down on the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings
  2. Click Privacy in the left sidebar
  3. Find Who can send you a friend request? and click edit next to it
  4. From the menu select Everyone or just friends of friends

Control who can send you friend request on Facebook

To make it easier for friends and other relatives etc. Ensure that you use your name as you use in daily life, you’ve added phone number and email. So that people can easily find you on Facebook.

Who can See your Profile and Cover Photo?

Since Facebook, when you change your profile or cover photo it has alwasy been public. But for your information, your profile photo and cover photo also appears in different places such as:

  • As a post on your timeline
  • It will appear in your photos album
  • It will appear on News Feed
  • And it will show everywhere as thumbnail your name appears, in comments, tags, chat, posts etc.

Review and Control Stuff People Tag You In

This is important to know/review and remove tags from photos etc others tagged you in. Another tool introduced by Facebook earlier called timeline review. We will get through it and I will show you how to turn it on or off. How you can remove tags and enable /disable face recognition for your Facebook account.

How to Remove Tags from Photos and Posts People Tagged you In?

It’s never been that easier as it is now, to remove a tag from photos and posts:

  1. Go to that post, don’t click on it
  2. Click the edit button or drop-down
  3. From the menu select Remove Tag
  4. Click OK on the pop-up to confirm

Remove tag from photo and posts on Facebook

How to Remove Tags from Multiple Posts at Once?

This is a great option, to do so:

  1. Go to activity log and click on Photos
  2. Check the boxes left to the posts you want to remove tags from
  3. Click Remove Tags at the top then Untag Photos to confirm.

The tags will no longer exist, but photos and videos will still be visible to the audience it is shared with. The best choice is to ask the owner of the posts to delete that post completely from Facebook.

How to Control Who can See your photos and posts you’re tagged in on your Timeline?

This totally depends on your choice whether you wanted people to see posts on your timeline you’re tagged in. To control who can see posts and photos you’ve been tagged in your profile/timeline:

  1. Click the drop-down at the top right then click Settings
  2. On the left click Timeline and Tagging
  3. Find Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your timeline?
  4. Click Edit right to it
  5. Choose the audience from the menu

The above is a quick tour through how to Setup Facebook Privacy Settings & Tool. So that you can make your completely private. For more, you can comment below or follow our Facebook page.

Related to Facebook

How to Get Facebook Profile View Notifications

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More